QuickTopic free message boards logo
Skip to Messages

TOPIC:

third to first-thoughts?

13
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-28-2017
03:32 PM ET (US)
test 1
12
Deleted by author 11-28-2017 03:39 PM
11
Matt Hudson
11-22-2017
01:47 PM ET (US)
Good stuff... This comes up fairly often and is a good reminder
10
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-10-2017
04:03 PM ET (US)
I agree with you Ed. The fact is that this has been called a balk several times in the past couple years. As umpires, we need to be on the same page on this rule. We discuss it at the Umpire-Coach meeting. Once again, this is why I like this QT format-this is a way we can look at these rules at our own pace and discuss them...as always, it sure would be nice to have more participation...
9
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-10-2017
03:40 PM ET (US)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4MATtwCzTOU
8
Ed Quinn
11-10-2017
02:39 PM ET (US)
Pretty basic play. Shouldn't be any controversy
7
LeRoy
11-10-2017
10:50 AM ET (US)
 I was at Seacrest several years ago and called a balk on a play exactly like that one. Seacrest coach came out to argue that 3rd to first was legal, just like this play. Won't make that mistake again....lol

It is virtually impossible to step to third ( a key ingredient) and then pivot around on that same foot to first while keeping your pivot foot on the rubber...
6
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-10-2017
10:00 AM ET (US)
Casebook play 6-1-5. Not a balk. His pivot foot disengages the rubber on his fake to third. He does not have to step backwards off the rubber. He does have to step towards third on his fake. The third to first play is legal in HS. I love these quick topic conversations. I wish more would participate. If you ever have a topic you wish to present, let me know and I can set it up!
5
LeRoy
11-10-2017
08:24 AM ET (US)
AND when he faked third he clearly stepped toward third as his foot was comming off the rubber.
4
LeRoy
11-10-2017
08:08 AM ET (US)

You can fake a throw to first, after faking the third base play if you are off the rubber. His foot clearly was clearly off the rubber when he pivoted to first.
3
Ed K
11-10-2017
07:57 AM ET (US)
3rd to 1st is NOT a balk in HS, but after looking at this play, I believe it is the correct call because the pitcher faked to 3rd and did not throw to 1st. He was not off the rubber.
2
LeRoy
11-10-2017
07:39 AM ET (US)
His foot was off the rubber. You can't balk on the 3rd 1st play if your foot is off the rubber.
1
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-10-2017
07:30 AM ET (US)
please click on the video below...a balk was called...Is this the correct call based on Federation rules? Please comment on what could possibly be done after this call by the crew chief?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4MATtwCzTOU

Print | RSS Views: 38 (Unique: 27 ) / Subscribers: 0 | What's this?