QuickTopic free message boards logo
NOTICE: QuickTopic is shutting down soon. Learn more.
Skip to Messages

TOPIC:

batters position in the box b4 the pitch...

7
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
11-30-2018
08:34 AM ET (US)
VERDICT BASED ON THE RULE=The issue here is that we were made to pick the decision because a head coach INSISTED that his guy could start with his foot in this position. Obviously this is not what we want to deal with...Bottom line=The hitter must start with both feet entirely inside the batters box. See rule below (in comment box #5)...the umpire shall direct the batter to start entirely inside the box. This explanation of the rule goes into detail...These discussions are great-it makes us think! It also makes us learn the FEDERATION rules...
6
Rusty BatcherPerson was signed in when posted
09-11-2018
12:06 PM ET (US)
Again, another stick that I would not pick up until made to, (he steps in and hits the ball, I'm good to go, he doesn't I get an out, it's the way the game has been played for years, i.e. Mike's choice/option via real game time) dang coaches working angles of the game. I not going to baby sit the batter before every pitch,(and miss a balk) it makes you look aggressive, move that heal in, and thus a rule book nanny, (all about me, look at me everyone, I'm the boss) quit coaching and umpire, let the players play the game, it's theirs. Darn it that bump is two inches to high, coach, go get the shovel, lol..
5
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
09-08-2018
08:36 AM ET (US)
Entire foot must be inside of box to start. See the rule please
4
Deleted by author 09-08-2018 08:37 AM
3
Mike
09-07-2018
04:06 PM ET (US)
If any part of the foot is touching the line he is considered to be in the box.
2
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
09-07-2018
10:37 AM ET (US)
back foot of RH batter-sorry the pic is sideways...tilt your head...I think you guys understand the situation
Edited 09-07-2018 10:39 AM
1
Jeff TenbargePerson was signed in when posted
09-07-2018
10:29 AM ET (US)
Can the batter start in this position? We had a Head Coach argue that this was a legal starting position for his RH batter...defend your answer with the rulebook please....BTW, our umpire got it right!
FYI- this is the back foot of a RH batter. His foot is partially on the line and partially outside the box...Look in comment #2 for the picture...
Edited 09-07-2018 10:36 AM

Print | RSS Views: 151 (Unique: 124 ) / Subscribers: 1 | What's this?