QuickTopic (SM) free message boards QuickTopic (SM) free message boards
Skip to Messages
  Sign In to access your topic list  |New Topic |My Topics|Profile
Upgrade to Pro   Customize, show pictures, add an intro, and more:   QuickTopic Pro...and check out QuickThreadSM
Topic: Untangle
Views: 2550, Unique: 1596 
Subscribers: 4
What's
this?
Printer-Friendly Page
Subscribe to get & post, or stop messages by email Subscribe
All messages    << 17-32  1-16 of 48        
About these ads
Who | When
Messagessort recent-bottom   
Post a new message
 
Guy with an answer  16
05-22-2002 04:25 PM ET (US)
They aren't going to send you any money if you cheated Ed, you should know better.
sp_cemarine  15
03-12-2002 08:15 AM ET (US)
Nah, nothing like that, I just didn't like the tone of my own post. Here's a link to the site again: http://www.worldwinner.com.
Ed  14
03-11-2002 12:37 AM ET (US)
Edited by author 03-11-2002 12:38 AM
mmm, why did you take down that post about worldwinner.com? legality issues?

I want to stress again to avoid them at all costs. I've thought about it, and they actually take close to 100% of your deposit. You play in tournaments, and every tournament only pays out about 60 percent of your entry fee. Winnings are then reduced another 60% next tournament, so you're down to a payout of about 36% etc. I think that is how it works. brilliant scam. too greedy though, so horrible implementation. for shame, worldwinner.com. for shame
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  13
03-05-2002 09:51 AM ET (US)
Deleted by author 03-06-2002 03:55 AM
   12
03-05-2002 09:05 AM ET (US)
Deleted by topic administrator 03-06-2002 03:56 AM
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  11
03-02-2002 06:06 PM ET (US)
Edited by author 03-02-2002 11:02 PM
Sites that allow you to play for money have a serious problem, which is that they can't supervise. Even for something like an online casino which lets people play a simple game like blackjack, players can just note down on a piece of paper which cards they've seen and easily beat the odds. If you're even suspected of mentally noting down too many things in a real casino, you'll probably be kicked out. So I'm not sure how online gaming sites where people play for money expect to deal with inevitable cheaters, especially something like TW (and chess) where it's so trivial to cheat.

Edit: testing something
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  10
03-02-2002 05:32 AM ET (US)
Ed, it's only a game, played by anonymous faceless players. People are going to cheat regardless of the existence of my page. There are other solvers online, and far better ones can be created (and exist) that run on the local machine and can enter words automatically into the box. Yes, cheaters are pervasive, and we all know that-- especially me, judging from the number of hits I get. Is taking the page down going to do anything? Nope. But on the other hand...

I'm of the opinion that regular cheaters are just totally wasting their time and I wonder why they keep coming back and don't do something better with their lives than mindlessly wasting brain cells. Because so many cheat, and we all know it, there's no novelty to using this program. So rather than have a few people think they're so clever by cheating surreptitiously, the would-be cheater might just say "who cares?" and move on to something more productive.

On the other hand, the real point of the page is to show off a nice algorithm and what can be done with a little programming. Read the paragraph "about cheating..." on the solver page. Cheating in general isn't by any means a simple issue though, and obviously you can't just tell people "don't do it" and expect them not to.
Ed  9
03-01-2002 04:26 AM ET (US)
Edited by author 03-01-2002 04:32 AM
incidentally, I really really wish you would take this site down. what were you thinking. what were you thinking. sooo many cheaters. at least make them write the program themselves. they really detract from the game. tsk tsk. for shame. also, worldwinner.com, or is it world-winner.com? has a play for money option but I would insist vehemently against playing for money. there are cheaters, the site takes like 40% of the deposit right off the top, and they don't send money even if you win. that is my experience at least with both word cubes and chess at their site.
happy untangling.
Ed  8
03-01-2002 04:23 AM ET (US)
www.worldwinner.com has a game called Word Cubes which features the 3-d boggle type board.
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  7
02-26-2002 09:44 PM ET (US)
This page has a picture of what looks like that game: http://www.pcgameworld.com/reviews/b/boggle/ It's the one they call "breakaway boggle", I think.
Guy with a Second Questio  6
02-24-2002 10:47 PM ET (US)
Do you happen to know where this game is, i mean what site??
Michael Hecht  5
02-23-2002 04:55 AM ET (US)
That's just me, anyone else heard of it?
Michael Hecht  4
02-23-2002 12:45 AM ET (US)
Nope, I just implemented it at someone's request... Figured it was a variation of the game available online, at least.
Guy with a Question  3
02-23-2002 12:14 AM ET (US)
Has anyone heard of the 3d boggle game that the solver is for???
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  2
02-18-2002 03:45 PM ET (US)
Has the whole site started going slowly lately?
sp_cemarinePerson was signed in when posted  1
02-08-2002 08:16 PM ET (US)
Edited by author 02-14-2002 11:44 PM
This page is for discussing the Tangleword/Boggle solver (mh-z.com/untangle/).
RSS link What's this?
All messages    << 17-32  1-16 of 48        
QuickTopicSM message boards
Over 200,000 topics served
Learn more Frequently asked questions  Acknowledgements
What they're saying about QuickTopic
 Questions, comments, or suggestions? Contact Us
Read our use policy before beginning. We value your privacy; please read our privacy statement.
Copyright ©1999-2008 Internicity Inc. All rights reserved.